Pole Instructors-David Owen


A while back David Owen paid a visit to Twirly Girls Pole Fitness, one of the studios in the Bay Area where I teach pole dancing classes.  Other than a couple of pole dance performance videos of him and that he likes to stretch and I don’t (even though I do it),  I didn’t know too much about David prior to taking his workshop.   What was so wonderful about learning from him is that the stuff he introduced to me was an extension of some of the pole moves that I was already working on, as such,  I was in the right head space to learn them-there is such a beauty in a new perspective.  I think what was key in his workshop was that he was able to handle multiple levels in class, and that he didn’t give out too much so we all had a chance to focus on a couple of things rather than a bunch of different things- pole moves take so long to master.  He taught me a switching jade thing, I don’t know what he calls it, and also forced me to break out of my comfort zone and nail that reverse grab spin on the spinning pole (on a 50 too!).  I really did get a lot out of his class.

On a personal note, everyone at Twirly Girls loved David ….I can’t imagine anyone not liking David Owen, he is such mellow, easy going,  all around nice kinda guy.  I am so happy to see that he is building a name for himself as an instructor, he really is very good at passing on his knowledge of various pole acrobatic techniques.  David also gives great advice for improving your flexibility, as you might imagine.  I hope to make my way to Vegas in the near future so that I can visit him, take a lesson and check out his new teaching grounds at Shine Alternative Fitness.

Leave a Reply

